Playing "Stump the Chumps"

I played ‘Stump the Chumps’ this week.

I stopped by the doctor’s office to inquire about the cost of a proceedure. The conversation went something like this> ( you’ll have to read the inflections in voice, in yourself)

Me: I would like to find out an APPROXIMATE cost of XXX procedure.
Them: IDK?!! You’ll have to call your insurance.
Me: So, how will my insurance know how much YOU charge?
Them: Do you ‘have’ insurance?
Me: Yes, BCBS.
Them: WELL, do you have a copay?
Me: No Ma’am.
Them: Do you have a deductible that pays 80/20.
Me: Yes, Ma’am.
Them: Well ‘then’, you’ll pay 20%.
Me: (VERY politely) Yes, I understand that, the part I don’t know is 20% of WHAT amount??
Them: I don’t know how much procedures cost, you’ll have to see Dr. XXXX.
Me: OK, could you please tell me how much a Dr.’s office visit is?
Them: Well, it runs anywhere from $43- $250……

UGH>>>>

Leave a comment

Filed under opinions

Leave a Reply

